Spectators  :   Volunteers  :   Competitors  :   Contact Us  
Entry List | Team Profiles | Schedule | Organizing Committee | Venue Locations | Forms & Regulations

2012 Kananaskis Rally Results

Pos Novice Car Driver/Co-Driver Vehicle Class Total
11Schmidtke/Hall 2005 Mitsubishi Evo IXOpen1:12:18.8
22Bruce/Burnley 2002 Subaru ImprezaOpen1:12:42.3
315van der Poel/Lord 2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIIIOpen1:14:06.6
4213Spencer/Kremer 1995 Subaru ImprezaOpen1:15:28.5
539Wahl/Manspeaker 1991 Subaru LegacyPGT1:16:19.3
648Shewchuk/Daly 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX StiOpen1:16:30.2
754Kozlov/Matas 1995 Subaru Impreza WRX STiOpen1:16:56.6
8612Djordjevic/Avery 2006 Subaru Impreza WRXPGT1:17:57.9
910Ostrowski/Galecki 1992 Mitsubishi EclipseG51:18:46.5
10711Bobyn/Bobyn 1987 VW GolfPSport1:20:02.3
1187Lea-Wilson/McAssey 1992 Eagle TalonPGT1:20:35.8
126Lee/Liu 1985 Toyota Corolla GTSGD1:22:31.2
13916Mullen/Brook 1991 VW GolfG21:24:57.8
141015Mohamed/Mohamed 2003 Ford Focus ZX5PSport1:40:52.0
153Kertes/Armstrong 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo XPGTDNF - Off Road
161114Mayall/Vincent 2000 VW BeetleG5DNF - Off Road

Detailed Results are available here: (2012_Kananaskis_Results.pdf)

Historical Results: 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006

2012 Kananaskis Rally

Sunday November 4th, 2012

Forest Demonstration Loop

The Official Spectator Stages on the Forest Demonstration Loop will run consecutively at the beginning of the 2012 Kananaskis Rally. Spectators should be in place by 0900 hours and should plan to remain in place until approximately 1130 hours. Rally cars will pass through THREE times. The 2012 schedule will allow rally spectators to view plenty of action without having to spend long periods outdoors waiting for rally cars.

Directions Arrive BEFORE 9:00 AM
From Calgary head West on Highway 1:
  • Exit RIGHT onto Highway 68 (Sibbald Creek Exit)
  • Follow Hwy 68 South for approx 17km to the Jumpingpound Demonstration Forest Loop Road.
  • Enter the stage at the 2nd access road on your LEFT.
  • Parking is approx 1km further in on the LEFT.
  • Follow the Marshals directions.
Download (pdf)

Download Map

Start Order

No. Driver / Co-Driver Car Class C S Profile
1.Hardy Schmidtke, Cochrane AB
John Hall, Sherwood Park AB
2005 Mitsubishi Evo IXOpenE1Hardyboy Racing
2.Graham Bruce, Calgary AB
Martin Burnley, Lake Country BC
2002 Subaru ImprezaOpenE2Flashpoint Rally
3.Tibor Kertes, Langdon AB
Spencer Armstrong, Calgary AB
2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo XPGTE3Delta Force Rally Team
4.Alexandre Kozlov, Calgary AB
Martin Matas, Calgary AB
1995 Subaru Impreza WRX STiOpenN3
5.Wim van der Poel, Okotoks AB
Bryan Lord, Cochrane AB
2005 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIIIOpenN3Cronus Rally
6.Kevin Lee, Calgary AB
Stanley Liu, Calgary AB
1985 Toyota Corolla GTSGroup DE3GTS Racing
7.Mark Lea-Wilson, Edmonton AB
Shane McAssey, Ardrossan AB
1992 Eagle TalonPGTN3Armath Racing
8.Josh Shewchuk, Peachland BC
Jennifer Daly, Kelowna BC
2004 Subaru Impreza WRX StiOpenN4Okanagan Rally Team
9.Kenny Wahl, Squamish BC
Tracy Manspeaker, Arlington WA
1991 Subaru LegacyPGTN4
10.Kristian Ostrowski, Calgary AB
Chris Galecki, Calgary AB
1992 Mitsubishi EclipseGroup 5E4PRM
11.Matt Bobyn, Calgary AB
Dan Bobyn, Calgary AB
1987 VW GolfPSportN4Hummel Rally
12.Boris Djordjevic, Devon AB
Andrew Avery, Beaumont AB
2006 Subaru Impreza WRXPGTN5Frontech Solutions Inc.
13.Nicholas Spencer, Coleman, AB
Chris Kremer, Calgary, AB
1995 Subaru ImprezaOpenN5DV8 Racing
14.Wayne Mayall, Cochrane AB
Matt Vincent, Edmonton AB
2000 VW BeetleGroup 5N5TRIX Motorsport
15.Irfan Mohamed, Calgary AB
Azam Mohamed, Calgary AB
2003 Ford Focus ZX5PSportN6
16.Kenneth Mullen, Lethbridge AB
Peter Brook, Lethbridge AB
1991 VW GolfGroup2N6Dazed and Confused Racing

Volunteer Information

One of the best ways to get into rallying and learn how and what to do is to volunteer to help out at an event.

There are many positions available, most not requiring any special knowledge (we'll teach you anyway). From the registration table to timing controls and spectator control.

Volunteers are needed:

  • To help with competitor registration
  • To help with technical inspection of rally cars
  • To help with rally equipment for the event -signage, marking off stage areas, etc.
  • To operate time controls - timing cars at stage starts, stage finishes and into the service parks.
  • To secure the roads - ensuring that roads leading o´┐Żnto the stages are secure. In other words, the "best seats in the house to see the action"
  • To host sponsor and media representatives
  • To help with spectator safety - marshals who ensure that spectators remain in the designated viewing locations and stay safe.
  • To monitor service parks for safe practises and to ensure that spectators are not too close to competitor cars during service.

Some positions need specialist skills. People with qualifications as amateur radio operators, emergency medical technicians, and advanced first aid are critical for event safety and security.

Marshal Training & Registration

Friday November 2nd, 2012
Contact: Myron Wintonyk
Time: 2030-2200h
Location: Calgary Sports Car Club
4215 - 80th Avenue NE, Calgary
Google Maps Link

If you are unable to attend the main training session don't worry we can get you up to speed at the event.

Please contact us if you wish to attend or if you have any further questions about how to volunteer for the event.

Organizing Committee

Coordinator Eric Grochowski
Steward Dave Sharp
Clerk of the Course     Keith Morison
Safety Officer John Blaber
Chief Scorer Josh Keatley
Chief Scrutineer Mike Dyer
Chief Marshal Myron Wintonyk
Communications Calgary Amateur Radio Association
Net Control Dave Kissinger / Fred van Driel
Registrar Eric Grochowski

Mail entries to:
Eric Grochowski
199 Galbarith Dr. SW
Calgary, Alberta T3E 3Y3

Now accepting Interac Email Money Tranfers! please see Registrar for details

Venue Locations

Rally Headquarters & Registration     Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino
Hwy 1 and Hwy 40
West of Calgary, AB
Google Maps Link
Technical Inspection Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino
Spectator Stages Jumpingpound Demonstration Forest Loop
South Loop (South of Hwy 68)
Rally Start and Final MTC Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino
Service Park Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino
Volunteer Recognition - Awards Presentation Dinner     Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino


October 9, 2012 Early Registration Opens
October 26, 2012 Early Registration Closes
October 29, 2012 Seeded Draw, Coordinators Residence 2000h

November 2, 2012 (FRIDAY)
1900-2030h Radio Operators Meeting
Calgary Sports Car Club
4215 - 80th Avenue NE, Calgary
2030-2200h Marshal Meeting
Calgary Sports Car Club
4215 - 80th Avenue NE, Calgary

Saturday November 3, 2012   
1000-1200h Recce and Rally Registration
1200-1600h Reconnaissance
1700 Seed 1 Drivers Draw
1700-1930h Technical Inspection - times will be assigned at registration
Sunday, November 4, 2012
0800-0830h Novice Drivers Meeting
0830-0845h Introduction of Officials
0900h Car 0 Starts Leg 1
1135-1215h (approx) First Service
1442-1532h (approx) Second Service
1745h (approx) Volunteer Recognition - Awards Presentation Dinner
1900h (approx) Provisional Scores Posted
2000h (approx) Awards Presentation

Competitor Bulletins

There are no bulletins at this time.

Forms & Regulations

Supplemental Regulations (2012_Kananaskis_Rally_Supps.pdf) pdf
Entry Form (Blank_Registration_Form.pdf) pdf
Self Declaration (Reg_&_Tech_Self_Declaration_Form_2008_2.pdf) pdf
Team Profile (KananaskisTeamProfileTemplate.doc) doc
Stage Schedule (Oct. 26-12) pdf

These documents use the Adobe Acrobat format which requires the Free Acrobat Reader

HomeEntry ListSpectator Info
Organizing CommitteeTeam ProfilesVolunteer Info
Venue LocationsScheduleCompetitor Info
Calgary Sports Car Club
The Kananaskis Rally is presented by the Calgary Sports Car Club